An ode to villages..

Let me begin with welcoming you all to my blog. Namaskar, Hello to everyone reading this. This is my first attempt at blogging. I am not a professional writer and might not make artistic use of words but I write what I feel like. Simple words come from a simple heart and that’s my way writing. I will try to keep it simple and straight from the heart.

Being an enthusiastic traveler I love to observe things while I travel. I love to capture small moments which prove to be very deep and thought provoking. The best way to learn is while traveling and exploring.

The soul of India lies in her villages. So in my first blog let me give an ode to the villages of India. The simplicity and beauty of life that you can see in the eyes and style of villagers, that warmth and smile with which they welcome you can’t be found in the hustle and bustle of city life.

I remember visiting my native village in Rajasthan quite often. I love the ‘mitti ki khushboo‘, those farm fresh veggies, fresh milk from ‘gau-shala‘, family temples and ancestral homes, antiques and many more. It’s so much fun sleeping on ‘chaar-pai‘ laid on terrace under the magic night sky and waking up with the sound of peacocks, chirping of birds and irritating sound of crows.

Villages have that raw appeal in the air, something that one usually misses out while running and racing in the glamor of city. I agree that city has given us every luxury and ease that we desire but still those simple moments of warmth make villages attractive. You can visit a villager’s home and the whole family will do the best for you with the resources they have. Most importantly they will give you their time that we ‘sheher-waale‘ lack. Once you visit and spend few days with them you will realize that the perfect life that you live is not that perfect. We can learn not to take things for granted.

So whenever you feel like visiting your routes in search of simplicity and peace, visit your ancestral or any village. Share your earned knowledge and expertise with villagers for their advancement. We Indians surely believe in ‘Atithi Devo Bhav‘ motto but our villagers actually abide by this.

Happy Travel. 🙂

Sharing a few clicks from my visit to my ancestral village.

Krishna temple in 'gau-shala'
Krishna temple in ‘gau-shala’
Paintings on wall of my ancestral home
Paintings on wall of my ancestral home
Geeta Shloka painted on wall of my ancestral home
Geeta Shloka painted on wall of my ancestral home
A few out of many cows in shelter home.
A few out of many cows in shelter home.
Fresh veggies anyone?
Fresh veggies anyone?
entrance of my ancestral home
entrance of my ancestral home
outer of my ancestral home
outer of my ancestral home
a view from a hillock in village
a view from a hillock in village
Leave a Reply

